Books – Detail

Click on a genre link to see the matching books; click again to return to the full Athenaeum Bookshelf.

book
195 pp. Paperback
History
(re)FOCUS then and now : Philadelphia focuses on women in the visual arts, 1974-2024
Judith K. Brodsky & Diane Burko (Editors)

Published on the occasion of the exhibition (re)FOCUS Then and Now: Philadelphia Focuses on Women in the Visual Arts, The Galleries at Moore, January 27-March 16, 2024.  This exhibition was curated by Judith K. Brodsky and Diane Burko. (re)FOCUS celebrates the 50th anniversary of Philadelphia Focuses on Women in the Visual Arts/1974, a citywide festival recognizing women artists.

REQUEST
book
259 pp. Hardcover
History
A Map of Future Ruins: On Borders and Belonging
Lauren Markham

A mesmerizing, trailblazing synthesis of reporting, history, memoir, and essay, A Map of Future Ruins helps us see that the stories we tell about migration don’t just explain what happened. They are oracles: they predict the future.

REQUEST
book
260 pp. Hardcover
History
A Paradise of Small Houses: The Evolution, Devolution, and Potential Rebirth of Urban Housing
Max Podemski

From the Haitian-style “shotgun” houses of the 19th century to the lavish high-rises of the 21st century, a walk through the streets of America’s neighborhoods that reveals the rich history—and future—of urban housing

REQUEST
book
475 pp. Hardcover
History
Beyond the Wall: A History of East Germany
Katja Hoyer

From the ashes of the Second World War to the fall of the Berlin Wall, the definitive history of East Germany.

An International Bestseller 

REQUEST
book
208 pp. Paperback
History
Black History in the Philadelphia Landscape: Deep Roots, Continuing Legacy
Amy Jane Cohen

Black Philadelphians have shaped Philadelphia history since colonial times. In this book, Amy Cohen recounts notable aspects of the Black experience in Philadelphia from the late 1600s to the 1960s and how this history is marked in the contemporary city.

REQUEST
book
456 pp. Hardcover
History
Brought Forth on This Continent: Abraham Lincoln and American Immigration
Harold Holzer

From acclaimed Abraham Lincoln historian Harold Holzer, a groundbreaking account of Lincoln’s grappling with the politics of immigration against the backdrop of the Civil War.

REQUEST
book
432 pp. Hardcover
History
Hamilton Heights and Sugar Hill: Alexander Hamilton’s Old Harlem Neighborhood Through the Centuries
Davida Siwisa James

Explores four centuries of colonization, land divisions, and urban development around this historic landmark neighborhood in West Harlem.

REQUEST
book
384 pp. Hardcover
History
Hell Put to Shame: The 1921 Murder Farm Massacre and the Horror of America's Second Slavery
Earl Swift

From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Chesapeake Requiem comes a gripping new work of narrative nonfiction telling the forgotten story of the mass killing of eleven Black farmhands on a Georgia plantation in the spring of 1921—a crime that exposed for the nation the existence of “peonage,” a form of slavery that gained prominence across the American South after the Civil War.

REQUEST
book
128 pp. Hardcover
History
Lost Chester County, Pennsylvania
Mark Dewitt Lanyon

Chester County has a deep and enriching history, from sites of the Underground Railroad to great moments of Women's Suffrage and incredible remnants of Native American culture. Author Mark DeWitt Lanyon charts Chester County's lost history and the places that defined it.

REQUEST
book
469 pp. Hardcover
History
Mortal Secrets: Freud, Vienna, and the Discovery of the Modern Mind
Frank Tallis

A chronicle of Vienna's Golden Age and the influence of Sigmund Freud on the modern world by a clinical psychologist whose mystery novels form the basis of PBS's Vienna Blood series.

REQUEST
book
752 pp. Hardcover
History
Native Nations: A Millennium in North America
Kathleen DuVal

A magisterial history of Indigenous North America that places the power of Native nations at its center, telling their story from the rise of ancient cities more than a thousand years ago to fights for sovereignty that continue today.

REQUEST
book
267 pp. Paperback
History
Our Trespasses: White Churches and the Taking of American Neighborhoods
Greg Jarrell

Our Trespasses uncovers how race, geography, policy, and religion have created haunted landscapes in Charlotte, North Carolina, and throughout the United States. How do we value our lands, livelihoods, and communities? How does our theology inform our capacity–or lack thereof–for memory?

REQUEST
book
398 pp. Hardcover
History
Smoke and Ashes: Opium's Hidden Histories
Amitav Ghosh

Ghosh unravels the impact of the opium trade on global history and in his own family―the climax of a yearslong project.

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2024 by Foreign PolicyLiterary Hub, and The Millions

REQUEST
book
320 pp. Hardcover
History
Strong Passions: A Scandalous Divorce in Old New York
Barbara Weisberg

“In 1864, the nation was riveted by a society divorce trial that had everything: cheating, wealth, feuding brothers and lurid details Weisberg’s sensitive examination reconstructs the trial while giving dimension to the real-life people involved.”—The New York Times Book Review “Editors Choice”

REQUEST
book
344 pp. Hardcover
History
The Accident of Color: A Story of Race in Reconstruction
Daniel Brook

A technicolor history of the first civil rights movement and its collapse into black and white.

REQUEST
book
262 pp. Hardcover
History
The Black Box: Writing the Race
Henry Louis Gates Jr.

A magnificent, foundational reckoning with how Black Americans have used the written word to define and redefine themselves, in resistance to the lies of racism and often in heated disagreement with each other, over the course of the country’s history.

REQUEST
book
256 pp. Hardcover
History
The Cancer Factory: Industrial Chemicals, Corporate Deception, and the Hidden Deaths of American Workers
Jim Morris

The story of a group of Goodyear Tire and Rubber workers fatally exposed to toxic chemicals, the lawyer who sought justice on their behalf, and the shameful lack of protection our society affords all workers. A gripping narrative in the tradition of A Civil Action and Toms River.

REQUEST
book
352 pp. Hardcover
History
The Harlem Renaissance and Transatlantic Modernism
Denise Murrell

A groundbreaking volume resituating the Harlem Renaissance as integral to the development of twentieth century modernism. This reframing of a celebrated cultural phenomenon shows how the flow of ideas through Black artistic communities on both sides of the Atlantic contributed to international conversations around art, race, and identity while helping to define our notion of modernism.

REQUEST
book
432 pp. Hardcover
History
The Museum of Other People : From Colonial Acquisitions to Cosmopolitan Exhibitions
Adam Kuper

From one of the world’s most distinguished anthropologists, an important and timely work of cultural history that looks at the origins and much debated future of anthropology museums.

REQUEST
book
368 pp. Hardcover
History
The Stolen Wealth of Slavery: A Case for Reparations
David montero

This groundbreaking book tracks the massive wealth amassed from slavery from pre-Civil War to today, showing how our modern economy was built on the backs of enslaved Black people—and lays out a clear argument for reparations that shows exactly what was stolen, who stole it, and to whom it is owed.

Amazon's Best History Book of the Month for February 2024

REQUEST
book
775 pp. Hardcover
History
Venice: The Remarkable History of the Lagoon City
Dennis Romano
A sweeping and comprehensive history of Venice--from its formation in the early Middle Ages to the present day--that traces its evolution as a city, city-state, regional power, and overseas empire.
REQUEST

UPCOMING EVENTS


TAKE PART >

DONATE


GIVE NOW >

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST