Books – Detail

Click on a genre link to see the matching books; click again to return to the full Athenaeum Bookshelf.

book
370 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
Get the Picture: A Mind-Bending Journey among the Inspired Artists and Obsessive Art Fiends Who Taught Me How to See
Bianca Bosker

The New York Times bestselling author of Cork Dork takes readers on another fascinating, hilarious, and revelatory journey—this time burrowing deep inside the secretive world of art and artists.

REQUEST
book
333 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
It's Not You: Identifying and Healing from Narcissistic People
Ramani Durvasula PhD

From clinical psychologist and expert in narcissistic relationships Dr. Ramani Durvasula, a guide to protecting and healing yourself from the daily harms of narcissism.

New York Times Bestseller

REQUEST
book
271 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
Look Again: The Power of Noticing What Was Always
Tali Sharot

For fans of Thinking Fast and Slow and The Power of Habit, a groundbreaking new study of how disrupting our well-worn routines, both good and bad, can rejuvenate our days and reset our brains to allow us to live happier and more fulfilling lives

REQUEST
book
129 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
Notes from the Porch: Tiny True Stories to Make You Feel Better about the World
Thomas Christopher Greene

From the author of the international bestseller The Headmaster's Wife and other novels, comes a collection of essays written during the Covid-19 pandemic while the author sheltered in place in his tiny Vermont town.

REQUEST
book
384 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
Postindustrial DIY: Recovering American Rust Belt Icons (Polis: Fordham Series in Urban Studies)
Daniel Campo

Chronicles grassroots efforts to recover, rebuild, and enjoy architecturally iconic but economically obsolete places in the American Rust Belt.

REQUEST
book
320 pp. Paperback
Miscellaneous
The Backyard Bird Chronicles
Amy Tan

A gorgeous, witty account of birding, nature, and the beauty around us that hides in plain sight, written and illustrated by the best-selling author of The Joy Luck Club. With a foreword by David Allen Sibley!

REQUEST
book
311 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
The Lede: Dispatches from a Life in the Press
Calvin Trillin

A fascinating portrait of journalism and the people who make it, told through pieces collected from the incomparable six-decade career of bestselling author and longtime New Yorker writer Calvin Trillin.

New York Times Bestseller

REQUEST
book
352 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
The Secret Lives of Booksellers and Librarians: Their Stories Are Better Than the Bestsellers
James Patterson, Matt Eversmann

This “celebration of the world of books” (Kirkus) is “a real page turner!” (Yankton Daily Press & Dakotan) that "feels like a love letter" (USA Today) to booksellers and librarians—as told to the greatest storyteller of our time, James Patterson.

REQUEST
book
272 pp. Hardcover
Miscellaneous
Tough Broad: From Boogie Boarding to Wing Walking―How Outdoor Adventure Improves Our Lives as We Age
Caroline Paul

From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Gutsy Girl, a funny, inspiring, deeply researched exploration into the science and psychology of the outdoors and our place in it as we age.

REQUEST

UPCOMING EVENTS


TAKE PART >

DONATE


GIVE NOW >

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST